Sunniest day of the year… so far

Officially the sunniest day this January as the attendance was high at the allotment. The days are getting longer, sunset is not until 1630 right now. With all this extra sunlight, I have the Sisyphian task of digging for yet more crouch grass and horsetail. It goes on and on and on…

Sisyphys (1548–49) by Titian, Prado Museum, Madrid, Spain. He was condemned forever to roll a huge stone up a hill in Hades only to have it roll down again on nearing the top

I had two things to help me on my way (and I REALLY needed them); homemade muesli bars (recipe from Dorset Cereals) and a fantastic album on repeat, Without Sinking by Hildur Gudnadottir (a suitable name as I often felt like I was sinking in the mud).

Dorset Cereals Muesli Bar
The wonderful world of couch grass
The wonderful world of couch grass
The mud

Missing bird feed coconutUnfortunately, the coconut bird feeder has disappeared. Its not on the ground so i’m blaming magpies, squirrels, people and children.

I tested the soil again today, readings range from 3.5-5pH – all in the acidic range and this is supported by the type of weeds on the plot (e.g.horsetail) and so some liming might be needed. I’ve never adjusted soil in this way so i’m a bit wary. Liming can be part of the process of eradicating (or controlling) horsetail – my question is should I use Dolomite Lime or could I get away with Maxifeed’s Cal-Sea-Feed? I’m probably going to go for the latter, partly as i’ve got a box already.

Leave a Reply

