Käsekuchen (German Cheesecake)

German Cheesecake

Käsekuchen is a particular favourite of mine and I always seek it out when in Berlin or Southern Germany. Its less sweet than the American counterpart, thicker and, I believe, much more sophisticated. I like it plain with a touch of lemon – no sultanas for me. So whats got me making this? I came across Quark in Booths by The Lake District Dairy Co., its a soft fat-free cheese – its a bit like a yogurt-y ricotta.

Here’s a recipe from SusanneH www.jamieoliver.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=56773

Ingredients

250 g flour
125 g sugar
125 g butter
1 egg

filling:
6 eggs (separated; beat the whites till stiff)
500 g quark/curd
1/4 l milk
1/4 l whipped cream
250 g sugar
3 TBSP flour

Method

Mix ingredients for crust and line a cheesecake tin with it (32 cm diameter; or springform). Beat yolks and sugar frothy. Add quark/curd and keep mixing. Mix with flour and milk. Fold in cream. Last fold in stiff egg whites. Bake slowly at 180C (350F) c. 1 hour

When the cake comes out the oven, it might seem over-risen. Don’t worry, it will sink as it cools.

I found this recipe a bit too sweet and will try it again without sugar.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Hilda says:

    This reminds me of a cake we served in a German coffee house where I worked in Toronto many years ago. I have often thought of recreating that cake, and yours looks very close to what I remember. I’ll have to try it – when I have a few people to share it with.

Leave a Reply

